Appalachian Bear Rescue

Black Bear Rescue

It is with great joy that I share some exciting news. I am pleased to announce that I will be joining the Appalachian Bear Rescue as a volunteer. Located near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, in Townsend Tennessee, ABR is a nonprofit organization which has been returning black bears to the wild for almost 20 years. I have always cared a great deal about nature – bears most especially – and this is a great opportunity to do my part in helping to preserve these magnificent creatures.

Unfortunately, as a volunteer working in a remote area, my time to contribute to community of the Lord of the Rings: The Card Game will be limited. Effective immediately, the blog will be on hiatus. I will do my best to remain a part of the The Grey Company podcast and be active on the forums, but the majority of my time will be dedicated to bear rescue. I realize that this may be upsetting to some members of the community, but this is a dream that I have always wanted to fulfill. I appreciate your understanding.

For those interested in the rescue and rehabilitation of black bears, stay tuned as I will have more information forthcoming on the blog. For everyone else, I encourage you to head on over to Tales from the Cards and The Grey Company Podcast pages for all of your LotR LCG needs. It’s been a great 2 years and I cannot thank everyone in the community enough!

This entry was posted in Bear Rescue, Community, Fun, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Appalachian Bear Rescue

  1. fouilloux says:

    Well, good luck for your new adventure, and congratulations! It was really cool to rad your blog during this two years, and it helped me a lot to play the game. I am also kind of found of animals and bears myself, so I am happy for you. Bye, and have fun!

  2. mar84 says:

    Fool’s day?
    I hope so :).

  3. diedertk says:

    When I first saw this, I was like: wow awesome! And then.. Ow wait, it’s April 1st..
    I myself am a volunteer, not rescuing bears, but other wildlife animals, especially birds. Pidgeons, buzzards, hawks, Barn Owls, but also hedgehogs, Eurasian foxes, squirrels and loads more. It’s a real privilige to see those animals up close and help them get a second chanche.

  4. lleimmoen says:

    I wish it weren’t. There’s never enough of good will.

  5. fouilloux says:

    Oooooh crap I had forgotten what was the day today… How to get ridiculous in two seconds…

  6. Gwaihir the Windlord says:

    I understand your hiatus, sir . . . you certainly have a long commute. 😉

  7. I’m hoping this is not an April Fool’s joke because I’m always inspired to see people acting upon their passions for more justice in the world. Are you indeed becoming a Beorning Bearkeeper?

    • Beorn says:

      I agree completely about having a passion for justice, but this was indeed an April Fools joke. At some point in the future, I would love to volunteer for a wildlife rescue, but it needs to be at a point in my life where I have more free time.

      • Hey, at least you’ve already got your organization picked out. Cheers!

      • diedertk says:

        I was in the same boat as Master. As I said above, wildlife rescue is great. Of course, according to Derek I’m a young pup so I have time aplenty, but I’m really looking forward to my Biology study and see if my future research will make some change in the world. Nature needs that, nature deserves that. In the meantime I’m doing some ‘pseudo’-help, because I won’t save species, but persons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

