Friendship Is Magic

Image

 

“When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not yet ready. The challenge will not wait. Life does not look back. A week is more than enough time for us to decide whether or not to accept our destiny.”
—Paulo Coelho

After giving it a lot of thought, I’ve decided to take The Hall of Beorn in a new direction. The Lord of the Rings, with thousands of years of mythology, language and culture, just doesn’t hold a candle to the magical world of My Little Pony. Friendship truly is magic. The collectible card game for My Little Pony is far and away the best game I have ever played. From looking at the reviews on BGG, I’m not the only one with this opinion.

My first exposure to my new obsession was at GenCon last year. At first, I was skeptical. How could any card game capture my interest the way the Lord of the Rings LCG has? In a word, My Little Pony is perfection. The deck building has depth, the card art would make the Renaissance masters jealous, and the mechanics are more fabulous than a dump truck filled with glitter. Now I find myself thinking of ponies with my every waking moment. When I close my eyes, Twilight Sparkle is there, staring back at me. As I drift off to sleep, with visions of magical goodness prancing through my head, she nuzzle my cheek and whispers “join us”.

My-Little-Pony-CCG

So now I must take the leap and embrace my destiny. I am finally ready to shout it to the world, to proudly announce that I love My Little Pony! Since urban dictionary does not yet have a word for giant bears who plays My Little Pony, I have decided to invent one. Bearony is a admittedly a bit awkward as portmanteaus go, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it. Hello everyone, my name is Beorn and I’m a Bearony.

So what is to become of The Hall of Beorn? Have no fear, those who share my love of MLP TCG have come to the right place. You will find the same in depth coverage, strategy and meta-game discussion. Just as I did with LotR LCG, there will be a focus on community, with contests, polls and yummy recipes. Now, the site will just be 20% cooler – with magical friendship and sparkly happiness sprinkled over everything.

The old articles will stay online, for those sad few that are stuck in the dreary lands of J.R.R. Tolkien’s feeble imagination. The more enlightened among you, who embrace the magic of friendship, can look forward to coming announcements about exciting new features: Pony Express (news), Glitter Madness (strategy), and Beorn’s Floral Arrangements (art), just to name a few. I’ve begun talks with the other members of The Grey Company and they’ve agreed that My Little Pony TCG represents the future of card games. We haven’t come up with an official name yet, but so far The Glitter Company is our best idea for a new Podcast name. If anyone has any magical ideas, feel free to leave them in the comments.

This entry was posted in Community, Fun, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friendship Is Magic

  1. Glaurung says:

    HA ha ha first of April yes?

  2. Just because it’s an obvious April Fool’s joke, doesn’t mean you don’t like MLP. Be honest, how do you feel about MLP?

  3. chibipaul says:

    Each to their own

    The bronies evangelised MLP on Dakka Dakka, so I watched an episode that was linked and I lasted 3 mins before being bored to tears.
    Never really got into any of the cartoons that were really about buying the 3000 characters (COLLECT THEM ALL!)

    Captain Scarlet LCG
    Now that would be another matter.
    SIG LCG lol

  4. heavykaragh says:

    “The Lord of the Rings, with thousands of years of mythology, language and culture, just doesn’t hold a candle to the magical world of My Little Pony.”
    You should make this your signature.

  5. TalesfromtheCards says:

    Lol. “The Glitter Company”

  6. I’m a girl so what do you call us girls who love My Little Pony?
    Cause I know you call men/boys Baronies.

Leave a Reply

