News: Voice of Isengard Player Card Spoilers

ImageAfter working my paws sore, I am pleased to announce that spoilers for the Voice of Isengard are now available on the Hall of Beorn Card Search. You can find them by clicking here. For those who are curious, the Legacy of Númenor pictured here is not a misprint. The designers must have decided to change this card from Doomed 3 to Doomed 4 since they spoiled it back in August of last year.

I agree with this decision. As it was originally designed, the card could lead to some ridiculous combinations. It is still quite powerful, but the extra 1 threat for each player will give everyone more to consider before loading up on resources.

Currently, only the player cards are available but I will be adding the encounter cards this week, as time allows. I had the chance to play each of the scenarios in Voice of Isengard earlier today and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. They are not as difficult as the Heirs of Númenor scenarios, but they exhibit a much greater variety and require some refreshingly original strategy. Overall I am quite pleased with this new expansion and I am very much looking forward to the upcoming Ring-Maker cycle. Enjoy the spoilers, and good luck against these new and exciting quests!

This entry was posted in Community, News, Spoilers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to News: Voice of Isengard Player Card Spoilers

  1. shipwreck says:

    If I had two paws I’d put both of them up for VOI!

    • Sad, the pictures that you scanned are really fuzzy. Is there something wrong with your scanner?

      • Beorn says:

        I did not scan them, the scans were made by Matthew D. I have a scanner but I don’t know how much better they will turn out if I try scanning them. If I can scrape up some free time I will give a look at improving the images. Honestly, high quality scans this soon after release might run afoul of FFG’s policy of waiting 6 months, so we’ll have to see.

      • Cardgamedb.com has some really nice scans of the player cards now. 🙂

      • Beorn says:

        Cool, thanks for the heads up. I will get these switched over as soon as possible.

  2. Is there enough threat reduction in the game for me to enjoy all those Doomed cards?
    Thanks for your hard work!

  3. Tonskillitis says:

    Great! I’m intrigued by the effect of the silver lamp. Finally that fun but unreliable hobbit card “small target” can be used with some consistency. Doomed is looking super powerful. The fact that many of the cards don’t require a resource to play them seems just so strong and flexible. I’m certainly looking forward to making a deck with Grima & Strider.

    • Beorn says:

      Yeah, I am glad to see Small Target become more viable. I have always loved the theme of that card, but I have avoided it up till now as too niche. Silver Lamp makes that card a real option. It looks like Strider is going to be a very busy man in all of these new Doomed-decks.

  4. Chris Walck says:

    Glad to see the spoilers. My cards arrive today. It’s an interesting set of cards to say the least. Why do I have the feeling Lore Aragon is going to make a triumphant return to many decks now with this doomed mechanic?

    • Beorn says:

      Yes, those planning on making use of any or all of these doomed player cards had best include threat reduction in their decks.

      • Chris Walck says:

        Either that or run like three Hobbits and justify thematically the Doomed trait by just saying, “It’s the corruption that Frodo feels on his heart as he travels to destroy the ring…”

Leave a Reply

