Poll Results: What other kinds of games do you play?

Image

Here at the Hall of Beorn, we enjoy playing many different kinds of games. Lately, when we’re not playing Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, Mrs. Beorn and I have been really enjoying Carcassonne. It is a well-designed game with simple rules and a surprising depth of strategy. The only problem arises when I use clever placement of tiles to block Mrs. Beorn’s cities and am banished to sleep outside. The Carrock may look impressive, but that rock sure gets cold at night!

As you can see from a previous article, Chess is another passion of mine. I was even in a Chess club as a wee cub. Some of the orcs at school tried teasing me about it, but I ate their lunches, and lunch boxes, and the lunch table. They left me alone after that. Still, moving the pieces with my already massive paws was quite a challenge.

Below are the results for which other games everyone plays. For anyone not familiar with these other games, I encourage you to go to Board Game Geek and check them out. Also, for those who indicated that they play games which they have made themselves, I would love to hear more details. Feel free to leave a comments with details (or a link) to your custom games.

Type of Game Votes Percentage
“Euro” Board Games (Catan, Carcassonne, Puerto Rico) 134 25.67%
Competitive LCGs (AGoT, Netrunner, Star Wars) 71 13.6%
Other 63 12.07%
Party Games (Apples to Apples, Cards Against Humanity) 51 9.77%
Casual Board Games (Monopoly, Risk, Clue) 46 8.81%
Traditional Strategy Games (Chess, Go) 40 7.66%
Magic the Gathering 40 7.66%
Traditional Card Games (Poker, Rummy, Hold ‘Em) 39 7.47%
Other CCGs (Pokemon, L5R, WoW) 23 4.41%
Self-Created Games 15 2.87%
This entry was posted in Community, Fun, Poll Results and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Poll Results: What other kinds of games do you play?

  1. Thaddeus says:

    I occasionally get inspired towards designing a game now and then. I’ve got a couple that are in various stages of “we might get around to getting this published”; some via self-publishing with Kickstarter and some we’re in talks with others about. Chicken Hut Games is the name of our company and there are two games put out ourselves in *extremely* small print runs. One is a a casual card game about working in an ancient roman fast food restaurant. The other is a big adventure board game about being a hero in mythic medieval Russia. http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/73756/baba-yaga

  2. Vladimir says:

    I didn’t vote, because there was no “Ameritrash” games option and they are quite big to be just brushed off as “other”. 🙂

    • Beorn says:

      My mistake, Vladimir. I totally forgot that category – along with a few others I’m sure. 😀

      I too enjoy Ameritrash games; when I was younger and had more free time, my friends and I would play epic games of Axis and Allies. Now it’s more likely that I play Battlestar Galactica (my wife is always a Cylon) or Arkham Horror.

    • shipwreck says:

      Thanks for this. I had no idea such a category existed!

      • Thaddeus says:

        I’m not really a fan of the “Ameritrash” label, but the bulk of the games I play probably fall in that category.

  3. Lukraakvars says:

    Settlers of Catan is an awesome game… consequently also one of the few games of which I know on your list hehe. Also, I liked the “ate their lunch, and lunch boxes and the lunch table” bit. Made me laugh hehe. Peace.

Leave a Reply

