Food In the Hobbit

Image

http://recipewise.co.uk/tea-in-the-hobbit

As someone who loves food, and The Hobbit, I could not resist sharing this great site with my readers! Using letters from Tolkien, and his books as source material, they provide recipes for all of the food mentioned in The Hobbit. May you all enjoy great food, fine drink, and good company in the coming days of celebration.

Happy Holidays!

bear print

This entry was posted in Community, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food In the Hobbit

  1. chibipaul says:

    For Hobbity Beers I would recommend Hobgoblin from Wychwood Breweries.
    They also brew a King Goblin and a Wychcraft.

    I notice the beer has gone a bit flat because Prime Minister David Camoron shared a bottle of Hobgoblin with President Obama. But don’t let that put you off. Just think of it as the trolls finding some in Bilbo’s backpack.

    • Beorn says:

      Thank you for this, Paul. Thinking of David Cameron and Barack Obama as trolls gave me a good belly laugh. Now Gandalf needs to bless Britain’s beer supply, so that it is good for the next seven years. While I do love some beers from the British Isles, I have to say my favorite beers are still German and Czech. I’m fortunate that Austin has a good supply of imports, so I get a chance to try beers from all over.

  2. Briana says:

    This is a fantastic site! I love the historical research behind all the foods. Thanks for linking!

  3. Landroval says:

    the food in the early chapters is my favourite aspect of the Hobbit novel

  4. shipwreck says:

    Go ahead and write up a converter for all those metric recipes so I can recreate An Unexpected Party. If you could get on that, that would be greeeeeat.

Leave a Reply

