HallOfBeorn.com is live!

Image

The Hall of Beorn is pleased to announce that a new Lord of the Rings LCG Search engine is up and running at HallOfBeorn.com!

As some in the community may have noticed, LotR LCG has been down for about a week now. Since I am not personally a fan of the other card search portals out there, I decided to scratch this particular itch and make my own search engine While I’m not slaying Orcs, I work with various wizards to create magical software, so this is the perfect side project.

As someone who wants to be able to find and compare cards quickly, there were two main goals with this project: speed and ease of use. The search does not use a database, instead caching the entire set of cards in memory on the server. This means that card searches should return as quickly as your internet connection can allow. The site is currently hosted on Amazon EC2 in the Eastern United States, so European users also should find it about as responsive as those elsewhere in the United States.

The one other thing that you will notice is the minimalism of the search interface. I didn’t want to clutter things up with a bunch of “advanced search” features that no one uses, so the filters that are available are the ones that I think will be most useful to the majority of users. That said, there is still definitely room for improvement and I look forward to hearing feedback from users about what other features you all would like to see. As of Friday evening, the cards are current through The Morgul Vale.

For the time being, this blog will remain right where it is on WordPress, but it may move to Amazon in the future as that would allow me to remove the advertisements. This search engine is designed as a supplemental tool, to aid in deck-building and strategic planning. It is in no way intended to encourage piracy. For those that have not purchased the latest Saga Expansion or Adventure Packs, I encourage you to go do so now!

In the coming days, I will be working to update my blog articles to link to this site, because those links are all broken now that LotR LCG is down. I encourage others in the community to link to this site as well, and I pledge to keep the site running, and the URL scheme unchanged for the life of this fine game. I hope that everyone finds this search engine useful and I encourage you to send any feedback and constructive criticism to HallOfBeorn@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in Community, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HallOfBeorn.com is live!

  1. I love it! One quick note…one of the cards (daggers) has the keyword “attach to the hero,” shouldn’t it be “attach to a hero”?
    Thanks so much for doing this!

  2. Joe says:

    http://hallofbeorn.com/Cards/Details/98ba9e54-d6c3-41ff-b886-81a29e29eb64
    Missing some text.

    Also, I’d love a reset button to reset the filters.

  3. Wonderful! Thank you so much! I have always found the old LOTR LCG card database cumbersome, not to mention CardGame.DB. P.S. How did you do this? I would love to be able to do the same for some other LCGs that I like.

  4. Glowwyrm says:

    Thanks for putting that together! I’ve found it to be really helpful and a great replacement for LOTR LCG.

Leave a Reply

