A Good Cause

Image

As some of you may know, when I’m not patrolling The Carrock, I make my home in Austin, Texas. Tragically, two people were killed last night during the SXSW festival. My wife was at the festival and thankfully decided to go home early for the night. It is moments like these that remind us just how fragile life is. One minute, people are laughing and talking and having fun, and the next two lives are extinguished. I work downtown and going into work this morning was like being in a dream, everyone wordlessly sharing the knowledge of the tragedy, and respect for those killed and injured.

This site is about games, and having fun, so I don’t often bring up “real life” issues. The fact of the matter is that more than twenty people were injured in this event, some of whom are in critical condition. Medical bills cost money, and in some cases the injuries sustained will be with the victims for the rest of their lives. For anyone who knows people in Austin, who has attended SXSW, or even just wants to do something helpful for other human beings in need, I encourage you to donate.

https://www.austincommunityfoundation.org/?nd=donate_detail&donation_id=2831&return_nd=donate

Any money donated will go to the victims and their families. I promise I won’t turn this blog into some spammy demand for money, but I feel very strongly about this issue. Life is more important than just fun and games, and sometimes it is appropriate to acknowledge that and do what you feel is right. Thanks to anyone who reads this, and decides to help in any way they can.

This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Cause

  1. Thanks for bringing this awareness. I don’t pay too much attention to the news, so all I knew was that 2 were dead. I had no idea there were so many other injured people.

Leave a Reply

